My Visual Report: Cape Town (Styling Fundamentals)

I started reading Vogue magazine and I came across the ‘cape’ trend. It instantly caught my attention because it was something different, instead of doing trench coat trend, as a lot of people would probably choose to do that. Superwoman, Batman or Little Red Riding Hood is probably the first things that run through your head when you think of a cape.

The cape coat is a chic and stylish alternative to heavy jackets or a trench coat. On this shoot I wanted to prove that you don’t need to be a super hero to wear a cape. When a woman wear a cape it can show people that they’re confident, powerful and independent and that’s what I want my model to feel throughout the day and night.

Once I’ve chosen what theme I want and what mood I want my model to feel, I’ve decided to move on to the styling ideas. I just want to show that investing on a cape is a must! It’s the perfect transitional piece for this season.

For the day I just want it to be casual so I want her to wear the cape with a top, tight jeans and a high knee boots. It’ll be better if the cape is long especially if you’re going to pair it with tight jeans, but sadly, a longer cape that’s affordable is an impossible thing to find so I decided not to look for a longer cape.

For the evening look I want her to still wear the cape and pair it with a fitted dress and with a high heels or the high knee boots. With her accessories I might just want to have a necklace, as I don’t want my casual and evening look to look too much.

These 3 images are the final look. Enjoy!

Thank you for reading!

 

Styling and Photography by Yours Truly

Model: Demie Tuzara

Leave a comment